Translating Ancient Greek Drama in Europe 1600-1750

Friday, December 11, 2020 - 11:00am

Online conference

An online conference supported by: Sorbonne Paris Nord, Université Grenoble Alpes, and the APGRD (Oxford), and organised by: Malika Bastin-Hammou (Université Grenoble Alpes), Giovanna Di Martino (UCL), Cécile Dudouyt (Sorbonne Paris Nord).

There is no charge to attend, but please register online by 9th December 2020. The conference will be held on Zoom, and the link to attend will be shared via email with those who have registered on 10th December.

Translating Ancient Greek Drama in Europe 1600-1750
11 December 2020:

Panel 1 - First Vernacular Translations of Aristophanes

10.00-11.15 Paris time / 9.00-10.15 London time 
Discussant: Fiona Macintosh (Oxford)

  • Malika Bastin-Hammou (Université Grenoble Alpes): L’Aristophane français du bénédictin Dom Lobineau. À propos d’un manuscrit méconnu (c. 1700)
  • Simone Beta (Siena): Traduire Aristophane à Sienne. Le Ploutos et Les Nuées de Giovan Battista Terucci (ou de Giuseppe Fabiani ?)
  • Stuart Gillespie (Glasgow): James White’s Aristophanes

(15 min Break) 

Panel 2 – Neo-Latin Sophocles

11.30-12.30 Paris time / 10.30-11.30 London time
Discussant: Victoria Moul (UCL) 

  • Thomas Baier (Würzburg): Eighteenth-Century Translations of Euripides by Lodewijk Caspar Valckenaer 
  • Cressida Ryan (Oxford): Seventeenth-Century Latin Sophocles: Not a Lingua Franca

(15 min  Break)

Panel 3 – Euripides in the Vernacular 

12h45-13h45 Paris time / 11.45-12.45 pm London time 
Discussant: Stuart Gillespie (Glasgow)

  • Emanuel Stelzer (Verona): The Earliest English Translations of Euripides’ Medea and Alcestis
  • Claudia Cuzzotti (Independent): Italian Translations and Adaptations of Euripides’ plays between 1600-1750

(One-hour Lunch Break) 

Panel 4 - Contemporary Criticism and (Re-)Translations

14h45-16h30 Paris time / 1.45-3.30 pm London time
Discussant: Lucy Jackson (Durham)

  • Giulia Fiore (Bologna): How to Make a Tragic Hero. Understanding Agency in Early Modern French and English Drama
  • Angelica Vedelago (Verona): The Strange Case of Sophocles and Mr May: Functionalized Reception in Thomas May’s The Tragedy of Antigone (1632)
  • Antonio Ziosi (Bologna): What a Translation Cannot Confess. The Case of Dryden and Lee’s Oedipus
  • Giovanna Casali (Bologna): “…questo si ha dalla favolosa invenzione degli antichi Poeti”. The Reception of Ancient Sources in Seventeenth- and Eighteenth-Century Opera

(15 min Break)

Panel 5 – Translation and Reception Theory 

16h45-17h45 Paris time / 3.45-4.45 pm London time
Discussant: Claire Lechevalier (UNICAEN)

  • Giovanna Di Martino (UCL) and Cécile Dudouyt (Paris 13): Intertextuality, Performance and the Politics of Translation 
  • Estelle Baudou (APGRD), Giovanna Di Martino (UCL), and Cécile Dudouyt (Paris13): Translation in Practice Workshop 

Plenary 

17h45 - 18h30 Paris time / 4.45 - 5.30 pm London time
Discussant: Tiphaine Karsenti (Paris Nanterre)

If you have any questions, please email Giovanna Di Martino

Part of the APGRD’s Translating Ancient Drama project, this conference is the third event in a series spanning translation in the early modern period (for the previous two, see: Translating Greek tragedy in sixteenth-century Europe and Reflections on Translating Greek drama in Early Modern Europe).

These conference details are also available to download in an accessible large print Word document here.